Recipe: Easy Come, Easy Go Brownies

A bowl of cocoa powder.

When I’m not laboring in front of a computer screen in graphic and web design, taking photographs, being social in NYC nightlife, working on side projects with peers, traveling, dancing, drinking…ok, I get BUSY (as do most New Yorkers). One of my hobbies is baking. Don’t judge me! I’m a proficient multi-tasker and baking allows me to be able to get up from the computer from time to time without throwing off the mental focus I’m usually giving to something else. Plus, I’ve been cooking and baking since I was 7 years old. It’s also nice to have something made from the heart that you can share with others…and I’m a sugar fiend. Again…don’t judge! I’m not as bad as I used to be. If you really wanna know how bad, think Lil Chrissy from John Waters’ movie, Pecker. But I digress.

This is a simple brownie recipe that I’ve had memorized for years. It’s a great go-to recipe that works every time and is super easy to assemble.

1/2 c. butter (unsalted) or margarine
1 c. sugar (I usually use 1/2 c. pure cane sugar & 1/2 c. dark brown sugar)
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2 eggs
1/2 c. flour
1/3 c. cocoa powder
1/4 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips (optional)
1 c. chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease and flour an 8 inch square pan (sometimes I use pure cocoa powder instead of flour for the dusting).

In a small bowl, mix together the dry ingredients: flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt; set aside. In a large bowl, use a hand mixer to cream together the butter, sugar, vanilla extract and eggs until well mixed. Slowly mix in the dry ingredients until well blended; next, fold in the chocolate chips and nuts. Spread batter into prepared pan.

Bake in preheated oven for 25 to 30 minutes. Don’t overcook!

In fact, a batch just finished while I quickly finished writing this post. I wonder if I can get ice cream delivered in Brooklyn. Gonna have to go out dancing to work all of this off!

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Easy Come, Easy Go Brownies

  1. A couple of chocolate brownies after long hours in front of the computer screen is just what the doctor ordered. Maybe not my doctor but somebodies doctor.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,077 other followers

